Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Product Review: Biore Charcoal Acne Scrub & So Fresh So Clean Charcoal Peel-Off Face Mask

Hello everyone! It feels SO GOOD to be back with doing book reviews and product reviews and talking to everyone. You all have been so supportive, you're the best. 💕 So today I have two product reviews for you guys. I was shopping at my local Walmart and was looking for something new to try on my face as I have very dry, oily skin and nothing seems to be working lately, especially with the weather getting colder. Now, I have seen Biore Charcoal products all over the television and social media lately, and I have been wanting to try it (charcoal is LIFE! Seriously obsessed). I found the Biore Charcoal Acne Scrub and snatched that up real quick, but then right about it I found this beautiful, fun looking packaging that contained a face mask and mask applicator, called So Fresh So Clean Charcoal Peel-Off Face Mask. And I'm always down for trying a new face mask, so I quickly snatched that up, too. So that is what we'll be reviewing today! Who's ready?! 💆😁











Sooooo excited to try both of these products!! And isn't the packaging for the face mask so fun and cute looking?!







First up, the So Fresh So Clean Charcoal Peel-Off Mask! I wanted to do the mask first, that way when I do the Acne scrub afterwards, it can get off anything left over from the mask I may have missed. I'm so excited!






It is now on! Before this I have never used a mask applicator and let me just say.....it was life changing. 😂 All joking aside though, it really made everything so much easier. I absolutely loved it. And it was so easy to clean, too! If you don't have a mask applicator, I highly recommend getting one. 😊





So this was about 5 minutes into it (the directions say 20-30 minutes for it to dry). As you can see by my chin, there is some goopy, dripping stuff there. Not a fan, but so far not to bad.





10 minutes into the treatment. I wiped off the mask drips by my chin but they appear to be reforming. Haha






20 minutes into the treatment..







30 minutes into the mask treatment, right before I washed it off. 






As you can see, the goopy drips down by my chin reformed and actually dried, so I couldn't wipe them off again. Unfortunately, that was the only part of the mask that actually dried. And it took me a good 5 whole minutes to scrub off the mask from my face. None of it dried, but it was VERY hard to get it off. However, afterwards my face was incredibly soft and it lasted a week, so kudos to the mask for that.








The Biore Charcoal Acne Scrub is next!




So I use this scrub every day in the shower. I work in the food industry and on top of my natural oily skin, it feels incredibly greasy after a day at work, so this scrub is perfect. And even though the mas k didn't work exactly like I thought it would, the end result was way better than I thought it would be. So, even though it didn't dry properly and dripped some, the end result makes it all worth it. I definitely recommend both the Biore Charcoal Acne Scrub and the So Fresh So Clean Charcoal Peel-Off Mask. Treat Yo'self, boo! 💆😄😜

Saturday, November 3, 2018

I'm back!!....... And what is this?

So I am BACK!! It has been such a crazy year for me, and so, sadly, my blog and reviewing kind of fell by the wayside. I have had a lot of life-changing experiences this year, mostly good, and I can honestly say that I feel like for the first time in years, I finally feel like my life is getting back on track and good things just keep coming my way. So positive vibes that these amazing things follow me into the new year, and as always, positive vibes go out to each of you and your loved ones! 💗

Now, I thought my first post after a 6 month hiatus would be something a lot more fun (guess you'll have to settle for the second post 😜 ), but when I discovered this, I knew I had to make a post about it. So, for those who don't know, I am a member of Influenster, which is basically a company where members have the opportunity to receive products (VoxBoxes) for review. I have done a few Influenster VoxBox reviews on my blog in the past, but as I previously said, I have put my blog to the side for awhile, so I also stopped accepting products for reviews. Getting back on track with everything, I recently accepted an Influenster VoxBox invitation, which I just received in the mail a couple days ago. The campaign was for L'OREAL PARIS UNBELIEVA-BROW LONGWEAR BROW GEL, and I was so excited to try this out. Unfortunately, my box came in and I was unable to do the campaign. See below for why.





This is how the brow gel packaging should look...





...... And this is how it came in the VoxBox.










This is the product that I was going to review, and even though I'm so sad I didn't get to try it, I just didn't feel comfortable with using something that was opened during shipment.







Though I do not blame anyone for how my package arrived, I would like to say I believe the product packaging should maybe be tweaked a bit. When I worked to put the box back together myself, there wasn't much room for both the brow gel bottle and tool to fit well enough inside, which may be one of the reasons the box didn't stay together. Now, things happen, and I am not mad at all, just sad that I didn't get to try it out, but L'OREAL PARIS is one of my favorite drugstore makeup brands. This is not going to deter me from their brand and it shouldn't for you either, just remember to always check packaging, and never use a product that looks as though it has been tampered with. 😊

Friday, May 18, 2018

Book Review: CELL by Stephen King


Title: Cell
Author: Stephen King
Publication: January 24th 2006
Pages: 355






Synopsis

On October 1, God is in His heaven, the stock market stands at 10,140, most of the planes are on time, and Clayton Riddell, an artist from Maine, is almost bouncing up Boylston Street in Boston. He's just landed a comic book deal that might finally enable him to support his family by making art instead of teaching it. He's already picked up a small (but expensive!) gift for his long-suffering wife, and he knows just what he will get for his boy Johnny. Why not a little treat for himself? Clay is feeling good about the future. 

That changes in a hurry. The cause of the devastation is a phenomenon that will come to be known as The Pulse, and the delivery method is a cell phone. Everyone's cell phone. Clay and the few desperate survivors who join him suddenly find themselves in the pitch-black night of civilization's darkest age, surrounded by chaos, carnage, and a human horde that has been reduced to its basest nature...and then begins to evolve.

There is really no escaping this nightmare. But for Clay, an arrow points home to Maine, and as he and his fellow refugees make their harrowing journey north they begin to see crude signs confirming their direction. A promise, perhaps. Or a threat... 

There are 193 million cell phones in the United States alone. Who doesn't have one? Stephen King's utterly gripping, gory, and fascinating novel doesn't just ask the question,Can you hear me now? It answers it with a vengeance.











Review


I love Stephen King. He is one of my favorite authors, though I have never read one of his full-length novels prior to Cell (except an attempt at Dreamcatcher when I was a young child, of which I got halfway through). I have read a couple of his short stories, and I've loved all his book to movie adaptations, so I thought if I liked his movies, I'd like the books they were based off of even more. So when one of my good friends bought me Cell, of which I have been wanting to read for awhile, I dove right in. And I was not disappointed.

I saw the movie version of Cell when it was first released, and I loved it. However, I heard from a lot of people that the movie was significantly different than the book. Naturally, it made me want to read the book more and see just what people were talking about. Holy shit, were they right, too. I loved the book so much. King has such a way with words, making they flow easily page to page, and drawing a very detailed picture in your mind. Now, usually with a book, it starts off with a lot of character building, leading up to the horrible act which is the reason you bought the book in the first place. Well, King threw all that out the window with this one. I was surprised that he jumped right in with the horrible act that the book is based on, then does the character building throughout the book. It threw me off, but I really enjoyed the change of pace from other novels. King's novels are always on the long side though, which is why I haven't read one of his books prior (I need a lot of preparation for long novels, Lol), but I loved the short chapters King put in the book. It made it easier for me to read, and I felt I was able to get through the book faster because of it.

I loved this book, though I didn't much care for the ending of it, but the story all throughout made it worth it. King's mind and the way he writes is a true work of art, and I can't wait to finish more of his novels.








**** 4 out of 5 Stars ★

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Ipsy: May 2018

Hey, everyone! So I am back on my Ipsy subscription. When I was getting Ipsy before, I liked the products, but they started sending me a lot of products I didn't care for, so I stopped. However, I saw they updated a bunch of stuff, and it seems they tailored products more to each person, so I decided to give it another go.



First, the bag. The May glam bag is tan with passport stamps all over it. I think it's cute, but not something I would choose for myself.




When I got this face mask I was very excited because I love face masks. Like, LOVE them. The TonyMoly Painting Therapy Pack face mask was amazing. Came out of the tube very smooth, easy to apply, and came off easily with a washcloth and lukewarm water. It left my face feeling fresh and extremely soft, without drying it out.






So, I use four basic things when doing my makeup: mascara, eyeliner, eye shadow, and lip color. When I saw the Doucce Maxlash Volumizer Mascara in my glam bag, I couldn't wait to try it out. I have heard of Doucce in the past, so getting the opportunity to finally try it out was fun. I liked the mascara itself; it went on my eyes well, didn't clump, and really made my lashes stand out. What I didn't care for was the brush. It made the mascara clump on the brush and I had to put in some work trying to figure out how best to apply it to my lashes.







A must-have in my makeup bag, I am willing to try any eyeliner thrown my way. Except liquid eyeliner. There's nothing wrong with it, I personally just do not care for them. So I didn't bother trying it out, but I sampled it on my hand. It went on very smooth, dried quickly, and didn't smear when I rubbed it.







Lip colors are probably my favorite makeup item. Lipglosses, lipsticks, lip creams, you name it and I have it. And one of my favorite brands is NYX. Their lip creams are my absolute favorite, and this London lip color was another one to add to my collection. Nude shades are what I tend to gravitate to most, so I when I got this one, I was pumped. It went on smooth, the color went great with my complexion, and stayed on for hours. The only problem I had was that NYX lip creams tend to be slightly sticky, but it wasn't enough to cause any problems and my hair didn't even stick to it.







Eye shadow is the one thing I own more of than lip colors. I have any shade you could possibly imagine, and I was happy to add this beautiful shade to my collection. It was very creamy, but I found difficulty in applying it from the brush to my eyelid.








Monday, April 9, 2018

Book Review: H.P. LOVECRAFT'S BOOK OF THE SUPERNATURAL Edited by Stephen Jones


Title: H.P. Lovecraft's Book Of The Supernatural: Classic Tales Of The Macabre
Author: Stephen Jones (Editor)
Publication: June 25th 2007
Pages: 384







Synopsis

"For anyone interested even faintly in good horror writing, what we have here is pure gold: Lovecraft's own selection of the best the genre has to offer, along with his comments on the individual stories. Talk about the horse's mouth! This book is long overdue."
- Peter Straub

"Lovecraft opened the way for me, as he had done for others before me -- Robert Bloch, Fritz Leiber, and Ray Bradbury among them. The reader would do well to remember that it is his shadow, so long and gaunt, and his eyes, so dark and puritanical, which overlie almost all of the important horror fiction that has come since."
- Stephen King 

"The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear."
- H.P. Lovecraft

In 1927, Howard Philips Lovecraft published a 30,000-word essay titled "Supernatural Horror in Literature." In it, the father of American horror writing  whose tales  presented one of the earliest scholarly studies of the supernatural in fiction, defined the horror story as one in which "a certain atmosphere of breathless and unexplainable dread of outer, unknown forces must be present." Those authors discussed in Lovecraft's seminal essay were used as the basis for the 1993 anthology H.P. Lovecraft's Book of Horror, edited by Dave Carson and Stephen Jones. 
With H.P. Lovecraft's Book of the Supernatural, Jones uses that same essay as inspiration for a new anthology of nineteen new selections, each preceded by an excerpt from Lovecraft. Included here are works from authors as varied as Edgar Allen Poe, Arthur Conan Doyle, Rudyard Kipling, and Robert Louis Stevenson. While these stories may carry a classical pedigree, their contents remain just as chilling and disturbing as anything cooked up by modern-day horror writers. The book also includes a short essay from Lovecraft himself, "Notes on Writing Weird Fiction," in which he lays out tips and rules for mastering the form.











Review


So, when I first saw this book, I snatched it up right away, thinking it was a book of H.P. Lovecraft's own tales. I was wrong. It is actually an anthology of short stories, picked by Lovecraft. It may not have been what I wanted, but it was still an interesting read as you got to experience what Lovecraft considered to be the best in the genre.

There were 20 short stories in the book, one being Ms. Found In A Bottle by Edgar Allan Poe, but the one story that really stuck out to me was The Red Lodge by H.R. Wakefield. The reason I believe I enjoyed that story so much was because it really had that old time spookiness about it, which was what I was looking for, and the other stories seemed to lack that. The stories were all good though, in their own way. It was a nice read for short stories, and I really liked getting to read from older authors and see what their takes were on the supernatural genre.

What I really liked about the anthology was that before each story there was a foreword from H.P. Lovecraft explaining what he thought about it, even though on more than one occasion there were spoilers within it. That never bothered me though, and I still liked the stories. So if you're a fan of the supernatural, and especially H.P. Lovecraft, I would recommend this interesting anthology.








*** 3 out of 5 Stars ☆

Monday, March 12, 2018

Cover Reveal: ECHOES by Alice Reeds

Let us know what you think of the cover for Echoes by Alice Reeds, which releases August 7, 2018!

This cover reveal is brought to you by Entangled Teen.

About Echoes:

"Fast-paced and thrilling. ECHOES is a heart-pounding and addictive love story." —Mia Siegert, author of Jerkbait They wake on a deserted island. Fiona and Miles, high school enemies now stranded together. No memory of how they got there. No plan to follow, no hope to hold on to. Each step forward reveals the mystery behind the forces that brought them here. And soon, the most chilling discovery: something else is on the island with them. Something that won’t let them leave alive. Echoes is a thrilling adventure about confronting the impossible, discovering love in the most unexpected places, and, above all, finding hope in the face of the unknown.

Want to read more? Pre-order your copy of Echoes by Alice Reedstoday!

add-to-goodreads

Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo | Entangled Publishing

About Alice Reeds:

Alice Reeds was born in a small town in Germany but spent her first eight years in Florida, USA. Later on, she moved back to Europe, where her family moved around a lot. She was raised trilingual and has a basic understanding of Russian, read and spoken. After getting her International Baccalaureate Diploma, Alice is studying English Language and Literature at University. In her free time Alice mostly writes, reads, figure and/or roller skates, or watches countless let's plays and figure skating videos.
Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon | Entangled Publishing

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Book Review (ARC): APPALACHIAN PREY by Debbie Herbert


Title: Appalachian Prey
Author: Debbie Herbert
Publication: February 1st 2018
Pages: 256








Synopsis

Star-crossed lovers on Lavender Mountain…Danger awaits them both.

After her father’s murder, pregnant Lilah Tedder dreads facing deputy Harlan Sampson, her child’s secret father, who left her heartbroken. Though she still wants him, Lilah knows his professional ambition won’t let him associate with a moonshiner’s daughter. But when a killer targets Lilah, Harlan becomes more than her protector. Now they must uncover old family secrets or pay the ultimate price.

Star-crossed lovers on Lavender Mountain…Danger awaits them both.

After her father’s murder, pregnant Lilah Tedder dreads facing deputy Harlan Sampson, her child’s secret father, who left her heartbroken. Though she still wants him, Lilah knows his professional ambition won’t let him associate with a moonshiner’s daughter. But when a killer targets Lilah, Harlan becomes more than her protector. Now they must uncover old family secrets or pay the ultimate price.










Review


Wow. I feel like I read this book forever ago, but really it's only been a week. I won this book in a giveaway (shout out to the author, thanks Debbie!), and when I received it in the mail, I fully intended to add it to my TBR pile and move on. But something drew me to this book right away, and before I knew it, I found myself setting everything else aside in order to read it.

I'm really glad I chose to read this book when I did. Everything else I was reading at the time was longer and I had been reading them for awhile, so taking a break from them all and diving into the story of Appalachian Prey was just the distraction I needed. It was a quick, easy read. Action-packed, full of intrigue, with some romance mixed into it, it felt like a guilty pleasure of mine and I couldn't put it down.

When reading romances, it's always a catch 22 with me because though I love the cheesy romance aspect of them, I don't much care for graphic sex scenes. So when I went into this I prepared myself for the worse. No worries here! The scenes were very classy and not graphic at all (which I loved!), and it just made me love the book even more. Debbie Herbert continues to wow me as an author - her writing is smooth, everything flows nicely, and she creates lasting characters. If you haven't already checked her out, I suggest you start with Appalachian Prey.









**** 4 out of 5 Stars ★